Picture of What is it like being a woman engineer at Nokia?

What is it like being a woman engineer at Nokia?

Best discussions & stories
8 responses

Steffano E. asked a question to Nokia

Category: Diversity

Date asked: Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Last reviewed: Friday, February 16, 2024

Sam Y.

Industrial Engineering

It is very intimidating at first to see that most of my colleagues are men, especially that there is this notion that men excel in Engineering more than women but I was glad to see that I was at par with my teammates. I appreciate it too that we understand and respect each other equally and that there is no sense of division caused by what your gender may be.

Thursday, January 31, 2019

Catalina Z.

Talent Acquisition Manager - Americas Region

I'm not an Engineer, but I can tell you that Nokia is committed to working on Diversity & Inclusion, from the recruitment process and all the way through development and career growth. We know there are some areas where the female population is smaller, but we would love to increase those numbers and we are working on different programs globally to make that happen.

Thursday, February 14, 2019

Picture of Anni R.

Anni R.

Development Studies

I am not an engineer so I cannot comment on that angle. But I think women engineers are very common in Nokia. In fact, I think NOT being an engineer (whether you are man or woman) is more uncommon. The tech industry is tilted in gender split towards majority male by far, so most often I find myself in a room full of men, being the only woman. I think in Nokia this is more a question of volumes of employees than attitudes; which I feel are quite neutral. But it does help that as a woman in this industry you absolutely have to know what you're talking about, especially if you don't have a technical background.

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Picture of Lucy F.

Lucy F.

head of technology